Quantcast
Popular Searches
Go
Advanced Search

Sign Me Up

Awards
  • Jefferson Cup Award (Virginia)
  • Jefferson Cup Award (Virginia)
  • Newbery Medal
  • Christopher Award
  • Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction
  • Golden Kite Award
  • ALA Notable Children’s Book
  • ALA Booklist Editors’ Choice
  • School Library Journal Best Book
  • IRA/CBC Children's Choice
  • Notable Children's Books in the Language Arts (NCTE)
  • Horn Book Fanfare
  • Library of Congress Children’s Books
  • New York Times Outstanding Book of the Year
  • Garden State Children's Book Award (New Jersey)
  • ALA Booklist "Best of the ’80s"
  • Charlie May Simon Book Award (Arkansas)

Sarah, Plain and Tall



Single-Click Shopping:
See More

"Did Mama sing every day?" Caleb asks his sister Anna.

"Every-single-day," she answers. "Papa sang, too."

This Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family. Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Book Description

"Did Mama sing every day?"
Caleb asks his sister Anna.
"Every-single-day," she answers.
"Papa sang, too."

Their mother died the day after Caleb was born. Their house on the prairie is quiet now, and Papa doesn't sing anymore. Then Papa puts an ad in the paper, asking for a wife, and he receives a letter from one Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton, of Maine. Papa, Anna, and Caleb write back. Caleb asks if she sings.

Sarah decides to come for a month. She writes Papa: I will come by train. I will wear a yellow bonnet. I am plain and tall, and Tell them I sing. Anna and Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she like them? Will she stay?

IMPRINT HarperCollins   FORMAT
ISBN 0064402053   ISBN13 9780064402057
ON SALE 8/3/2004 PAGES 96
AGES 6 to 10 SIZE 5 1/8 x 7 5/8
PRICE US $5.99   PRICE CAN $6.99
GRL R BISAC1 JUV007000
BISAC2 JUV013080 BISAC3 JUV025000
About the Author
Patricia MacLachlan
Photo By John MacLachlan

Patricia MacLachlan

For MySpace:
Other Sites:
Preview | FAQ | More Books
HarperCollins Childrens
HarperCollins Childrens
HarperCollins Childrens
HarperCollins Childrens